hi INDiA
South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

India tour of SL: Dhawan to lead, Bhuvneshwar named vice captain; Padikkal, Sakariya among newcomers


Shikhar Dhawan has been confirmed as captain, while pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be his deputy as the Board of Control for Cricket in India named a 20-member squad to tour Sri Lanka in July.

All matches will be played at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo.

The BCCI announced a separate white-ball squad for the three-match ODI series and the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, with the Virat Kohli-led side in England currently for the World Test Championship final and the subsequent five-match Test series starting in August.

Having missed out on the Test squad, allrounder Hardik Pandya will be one of the star names in the squad while recent debutants Suryakumar Yadav and wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan feature too. Sanju Samson has been named as the other wicketkeeper.

Among the youngsters to get a look in are Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Chetan Sakariya, all of who impressed in the domestic circuit and Indian Premier League recently. The experienced Karnataka allronder Krishnappa Gowtham also gets a call up, alongside experienced white-ball spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

Tamil Nadu and Kolkata Knight Riders spinner Varun Chakravarthy gets another chance with the national squad after he missed out on the Australia tour due to injury…

Read more

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.