hi INDiA
South Asian Views On Global News - Update 24X7

Lewis Hamilton wins Belgian Grand Prix



Spa-Franchorchamps (Belgium), Aug 24: British Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton won the Belgian Grand Prix on Sunday, finishing ahead of teammate Nico Rosberg and French Lotus driver Romain Grosjean.

Hamilton finished the 43 laps at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit in 1:23:40.387, winning his sixth race of the year.

The 30-year-old Hamilton has now won 39 races in his career.

Russian Red Bull driver Daniil Kvyat mounted a tremendous comeback, finishing in fourth place after being in seventh place going into the final laps.

Force India driver Sergio Perez, of Mexico, finished in fifth place even though he was close to the top three cars for most of the race.

Spanish McLaren driver Fernando Alonso had another disappointing outing, finishing in 13th place.

Mechanical problems forced several competitors, including Australian Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo and Venezuelan Lotus driver Pastor Maldonado, out of the race.

Force India's Nico Hülkenberg, of Germany, experienced a breakdown in the installation lap and never made it into the race.

The next race on the Formula One schedule is the Italian Grand Prix, which will take place on September 6 in Monza.

gtag('set', {'user_id': 'USER_ID'}); // Set the user ID using signed-in user_id.